shore patrol

Flynn d fr - mtpmcg062616 - 1376 sm

There’s really no need to actually get into the water, Flynn explained to me. Everything that’s really  interesting out there in the water eventually has to come in to shore. Where I am waiting. And ready. Because the shore belongs to me.

Yesterday’s Phenology: Actually a pleasant late-summer day. I’d say 80 degrees, tops, and dry, (after the rain from last night’s thunderstorms dried up.) Did I see much phenology today? Nope. Many bees and other flying insecta in the garden, and on the goldenrod. I leave them alone, they leave me alone. Live and let live, that’s what I say. There appears to be some leaves falling from the trees, but of course it’s much too early for that sort of nonsense, and so I am probably imagining it. They are probably just loose leaves being blown about, and I only happen to see them as they are gently descending to earth. I’ve been hearing more cardinals singing now. Perhaps they were singing all summer, but, in the long days, they were up and singing before I was up and listening. Once again, our clocks are briefly synchronized.

Thirteen hours and 19 minutes of daylight today (8/30), or, as we Phenologists put it, 13:19. That’s right about average for this time of year.

Leave a Reply

