minnesota mid-state landscape

20160827_180748-fleeting-d-fr-mtpmcg082716

One last shot from the drive up to Hibbing is the soft mist and the early morning rain. (Cue: Gordon Lightfoot).
(Actually we listened to “The Lonesome Touch,” which was just right.)

Yesterday’s Phenology: Awakened by more thunder, more lightning, more rain. We got about an inch of rain, a little less, which puts us almost an inch of rain ahead of normal for September. Things are pretty soggy here. I can remember a lot of falls where everything turned brown in August, and stayed brown till it snowed, and I guess I’d rather have this. Everything is very green. More rain predicted for tonight and tomorrow.
However, I think it’s hard on the raspberries, which are also pretty soggy. I was startled while in the raspberry bushes by a large, low-flying bird, that swooped low over my head and then over by the fence. I walked over a bit closer and watched for it, and eventually saw it pop up. I think it was a broad-winged hawk, but that’s mostly a guess. I only saw it from behind, it was a beautiful brown. I got a glimpse of a lighter colored chest and then it swooped off. I was unable to catch a look at its tail feathers. Broad winged hawks are fairly common in Minnesota, though I’ve nowt seen a one, until, perhaps, today. I thought it also might be a Cooper’s Hawk, but I think the eyes are a bit more colorful on a Cooper’s hawk. Broadwings like small prey, and this one was near both our bird feeder and our compost pile, where I bet small prey might be found occasionally.
Alas, I had no camera with me. Why not?

Leave a Reply

